ShoeShe

It’s political…It’s spiritual…It’s laughable…It’s lovable…It’s ShoeShe!

I Wonder… August 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — shoeshe @ 11:56 pm

So, I was at Wal-Mart tonight.  If you’ve read some of my other posts, you realize that it is both a place I frequent and a place I frequently bitch about.

Our dear old Wal-Mart has undergone (and is still undergoing) a major face-lift…like complete renovation…like nothing is in the same place it was yesterday, nor will it be where it is today tomorrow.

So, automatically the trip is going to take longer than it should, because you have to learn the lay of the land all over again.  But, that’s really not the reason for this post.

I wonder…

Why do fat girls wear tight, strapless bandeau tops with sequins?

Why do women (and children, no less) wear ill-fitting thongs? (Note: I do not want to see the triangular shaped piece of material at the top of your pants…gross!)

Why do men in the “Deep South” find it appropriate to wear undershirts in public?

Why do parents find it appropriate to take their children (probably 4-5 years old) out in public with no shoes?

Why do children who are clearly old enough to know better make monkey noises in public while their parents do nothing to stop them?

Why do people think it is appropriate to go to Wal-Mart in their pajamas?

Why do people have family reunions in the aisles of Wal-Mart?  Trust me, the aisles are not big enough, and I do not find it amusing to wait on you to move, all the while saying “Excuse me,” and watching you NOT move.

Why do teenagers hang out at Wal-Mart on a Friday night?  Shouldn’t they be out drinking or smoking pot?  In all seriousness, is there not a better place to hang out…i.e. the mall, the movie theater, someone’s house, a park, the skating rink, the bowling alley, the mini-golf place, an arcade…I mean, really!

Why do people take up the entire aisle with their shopping cart when they could clearly push it against one side or another, thereby making room for my cart to go by theirs?

Why on God’s green earth do they make tye-dye fake Crocs?  They are so dang ugly.  Why on God’s green earth do they make team spirit fake Crocs?  They too are so dang ugly.

Why do places like Wal-Mart make cheap looking clothing with character faces on them for adults?  I understand Winnie the Pooh and Kermit for children…but in a size 2x womens…come on!

Why do fat people wear skimpy clothing?  Just because something comes in a 4x doesn’t mean you need to purchase three of them.

Okay, I’ve wondered enough for tonight…I’ll wonder more later.  Seriously…I promise.  I will be back…maybe Sunday.

 

6 Responses to “I Wonder…”

  1. Hey You Says:

    I do seem to remember going to Kroger with you in our pj’s a couple of times…but I am with you on everything else.

    Confession: Sometimes the son goes in public without shoes, but we never let him walk around…and I would say that this is his last summer to do so.

    Also fake crocs: i do have a hot pink pair of fauxcrocs. I know they are ugly and I do not wear them “out” much anymore, but kids (and my 80 yr old grandma) love them for some reason. I am ready for this trend to be over. The Son had a pair of beige ones that gave him blisters.

    Oh and I hate character clothing for ANYONE kids included, MMIL bought the son a Lighting mcqueen (cars) t-shirt and blast it all, he loves it and wants to wear it all the time. I told him it was a pj shirt only.

  2. catark Says:

    Yeah, in defense of the no shoes kids, I always put shoes on my children but my youngest hates shoes and usually throws them off and refuses to keep them on. I don’t really think I should duct tape his shoes to his feet and I can’t think of any other solution at the moment. Three year olds do not like to negotiate.

    I am not a big fan of character clothing, but my kids like to wear some of it, not really my oldest any more, but Westers loves cars shirts and there are some really cute clothes with characters on it. Now for older people I hate character clothing. I don’t know why they make such ugly big women clothing, as if we needed anything else to draw attention to us.

    As a teenager I did spend some time in Wal-mart hanging out and looking at things. If you are poor, it’s not a bad alternative or if you are waiting for a movie or something, it isn’t bad either. At least they aren’t out partying and doing other things I really don’t want my teenagers doing.

    I own some tye dye fake crocs, I bought them 3 or 4 years ago. I think I wore them maybe twice outside of the house and usually when I had Bible study 30 minutes after work and had to book it to church. I think they are still in my closet, but I am not sure. I hate crocs and all shoes that are related to crocs, no matter how many charms, bows, or whatever you put on them, they are still ugly.

  3. shoeshe Says:

    Hey You…I think we were in college when we wore pjs to Kroger (which is totally acceptable). The people to whom I was referring were grown adults in slippers and pjs…far too old to pull off the “I’m in college and don’t have any spare time for a shower, and plus, even if I did have time for a shower, none of my real clothes are clean, so this is all you’re gonna get” look.

    Your son (and Catark’s for that matter) are much younger than the kid I was talking about with no shoes. He was at least 5 (or a really big 4-year-old).

    I must also admit that I had a pair of fake crocs that I bought when I was a youth minister and we went to the beach, because they seemed to walk better than flip flops in the sand. But I think they are utterly hideous (mainly the ugly non-shoe looking tye-dye ones). I must also admit that I actually think their new Croc shoes (like loafers and boots and heels) are actually kinda cute…and really comfy, so when I get past my “You want me to pay $40 for a pair of shoes that cost you $3 to make” phase, I might buy a pair.

    And…just a question…but when you say you hate character clothing, does that include band shirts vintage brand shirts or retro movie shirts (The Beatles, Indiana Jones, Superman, Dr. Pepper, Mr. Bubbles, etc.)? I think some of the vintage looking shirts are pretty cute for kids (not adults). The Gap Kids has some right now that are totally cute (but totally not worth the $22.99 they cost). But, as for Wal-Mart’s variety of character clothing, I am totally against…like the cheap looking Tigger stuff…as much as I love Winnie the Pooh, I’d never dress a kid in it…toys are one thing…clothes are something completely different! I agree with your “pj’s only” approach.

    As for spending time in Wal-Mart, I must say that as an early teenager there were a couple of occasions when my friends and I played hide & seek in Wal-Mart. It was fun then, but when I think back to it, I think how inconsiderate it was of both shoppers and Wal-Mart employees. I would have hated me then. Usually we waited patiently for movies and such at someone’s house or at the mall or at the movie theater playing silly arcade games. And I’m certainly not really for drinking and doing drugs. That was a joke.

  4. catark Says:

    I wasn’t thinking you wanted teenagers to go do drugs, I was just saying they could be doing worse things. I didn’t do much as a teenager to get in shoppers way, just look at cd’s, toys, games, etc for sometimes a long time wating for a movie theater to start. I lived 45 minutes away and there wasn’t anywhere else to go that was free. I will admit to be an inconsiderate youth director and having youth go to walmart for a photo scavenger hunt and probably disrupting things just a bit. So bad on me.

  5. Ang Says:

    I have to agree with catark about the kids/teenagers hanging out at Walmart. I came from a VERY small town, and the nearest “town” was about 30 minutes away. I was not involved with the crowd that hung out at the river and drank/smoked pot. Therefore, my friends and I would go to “town” and walk around Walmart for awhile. Sometimes we would end up at the far end of the parking lot just hanging out and talking. We never made trouble, and it was a fun way to spend a Friday or Saturday night.

    I have also been known to occasionally wear comfy pants that I have slept in to the grocery store. I do, however, draw the line at wearing actual slippers in public. At least put on a pair of flip-flops or tennis shoes.

  6. M Says:

    Why are you so concerned with what other people are wearing? I really don’t understand your problem with pajamas especially. They’re just like regular clothes but with a pattern on them. People wear flannel shirts out all the time, the only difference between that and pajamas is the checkered pattern. People should wear whatever they want, fat or not. As long as they’re not flashing their genitals at me, I don’t care. You don’t have to look at it if you don’t like it. I’m sure some people think what you wear is tacky and ugly, and I’m sure a lot of people probably consider you too fat to be wearing whatever you are wearing.

    And OH NO, MONKEY NOISES, how horrible and inappropriate. Call the police. Alert the media. Children making animal noises: a menace to society.


Leave a Reply

